Ricky Martin, Jane Lynch, Celebrities React to Obama's Support of Marriage Equality

By Jeremy Kinser

Originally published on Advocate.com May 09 2012 4:35 PM ET

Below are some of the more notable reactions to the Obama interview.

 

Ricky Martin‏ @ricky_martin

I applaud President @barackobama for affirming that ALL Americans should enjoy equal rights. Historic! I will be a very proud host on Monday

 

Jane Lynch‏ @janemarielynch

Pretty darn happy today. Thanks Mr President, for supporting the dignity of my family and so many others!

 

Neil Patrick Harris‏ @ActuallyNPH

@BarackObama: President Obama announces his support for same-sex marriage: http://OFA.BO/CLBAi9” Bravo, Mr. President, and thank you.

 

Andy Cohen‏ @BravoAndy

THANK YOU MR. PRESIDENT

 

Roseanne Barr‏ @TheRealRoseanne

I have2 gay siblings that have been in long term family relationships 4over 25 yrs each-Bat Mitzvah in June-marriage equality is pro family!

 

Jesse Tyler Ferguson‏ @jessetyler

With @MichelleObama@JustinMikitapermission I would like to marry @BarackObamaright now!

 

Sandra Bernhard‏ @SandraBernhard

viva Obama who has just endorsed gay marriage. right on time drop a dime blow your mind.

 

Sean Maher‏ @Sean_M_Maher

Amazing. I applaud him. "@glaad: History! President Obamaannounces support of #MarriageEqualityhttp://bit.ly/KFLloM#LGBT"

 

Audra McDonald‏ @AudraEqualityMc

How many young lives did the President just save by saying that he supports them today?

 

Ross Mathews‏ @helloross

OMG, it's official! Obama becomes 1st president to support gay marriage!!! Historic day!

 

Suze Orman‏ @SuzeOrmanShow

I am soooo PROUD of you PRESIDENT OBAMA YES YES YES it is about time. Marriage Equality is so very very important.

 

Chely Wright‏ @chelywright

The President has just stated publicly that he believes "same sex marriage should be legal". I am proud. Thank you @BarackObama

 

ERIC BALFOUR‏ @ERICBALFOUR

Thank you Mr. President for your support of gay marriage...

 

Russell Simmons‏ @UncleRUSH

thank you Mr. President for your support of gay marriage...

 

Perez Hilton‏ @PerezHilton

Better late than never! @BarackObamalends his support to same-sex marriage! http://perez.ly/K34trSEquality for ALL!

 

Michael Urie‏ @michaelurie

Well done, Mr. President. Well done indeed!

 

Evan Rachel Wood‏ @evanrachelwood

Wooooooo! @BarackObama

 

Rachel Zoe‏ @RachelZoe

Such an exciting day!!! xoRZ RT @BarackObama"Same-sex couples should be able to get married."—President Obama

 

josh groban‏ @joshgroban

Historic!! #equalityRT @BarackObamaPresident Obama announces his support for same-sex marriage

 

Debi Mazar‏ @debimazar

Thankyou Mr.President!

 

 

mia farrow@MiaFarrow

Actually, now that Obama has come out in support of gay marriage, I feel less pressure to find a woman to marry

 

Jamie Bell‏ ‪@1jamiebell

Good for you Mr. Obama. Good for you.

 

Eliza Dushku‏ ‪@elizadushku

President @BarackObama#THANKYOUfor your support of equal rights marriage! RT & show the #POTUSsome love, guys-n-gals!! #FreedomToMarryRT

 

Sean Hayes@theseanhayes

Thank you to @BarackObamafor taking a forward-thinking stance on equality for all gay Americans and for supporting gay marriage.

 

Ellen DeGeneres@TheEllenShow

Thank you President @BarackObamafor your beautiful and brave words. I'm overwhelmed.