Named Best Film by Gay and Lesbian Critics Group

By Jeremy Kinser

Originally published on January 17 2012 4:53 PM ET

The romantic drama Weekend; We Were Here, a searing chronicle of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco; and the haunted house series American Horror Story each took two honors in the Gay and Lesbian Critics Association's third annual Dorian Awards.

Andrew Haigh's critically acclaimed Weekend was voted both best overall and Best LGBT-themed Film of 2011, while the nonfiction We Were Here, directed by David Weissman and Bill Weber, was voted best overall documentary and best LGBT-themed documentary. American Horror Story, the FX supernatural hit from Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk, won for TV drama of the year, and its star Jessica Lange, who also won a Golden Globe on Sunday for her performance, was honored for TV performance of the year. Modern Family was voted LGBT-themed TV show of the year. TV musical program of the year resulted in a tie between Glee and Lady Gaga Presents the Monster Ball Tour. The group, made up of LGBT entertainment journalists from an array of media outlets, including two Advocate staff members, injects some good humor into the categories. The Muppets was honored as campy film of the year and Betty White was named timeless star.

See the full list of winners below. For more information visit

Film of the Year: Weekend

Film Performance of the Year: Meryl Streep, The Iron Lady

Documentary of the Year: We Were Here

LGBT-Themed Film of the Year: Weekend

LGBT-Themed Documentary of the Year: We Were Here

Campy (Intentional or Not) Film of the Year: The Muppets

Unsung Film of the Year: 50/50

TV Drama of the Year: American Horror Story

TV Comedy of the Year: Modern Family

TV Musical Program of the Year (tie): Glee and Lady Gaga Presents the Monster Ball Tour

TV Performance of the Year: Jessica Lange, American Horror Story

LGBT-Themed TV Show of the Year: Modern Family

Campy (Intentional or Not) TV Show of the Year: Revenge

Unsung TV Show of the Year: Suburgatory

The We're Wilde About You Rising Star Award: Michael Fassbender

Wilde Wit of the Year Award: Kathy Griffin

Timeless Star: Betty White