Scroll To Top

The 2016 Winners of the Outfest Los Angeles LGBT Film Festival


Spa Night, Kiki, and Miles were just a few of the prize winners of this year's festival.

The Outfest Los Angeles LGBT Film Festival concluded Sunday with the screening of Other People, a film starring Jesse Plemons as a gay man caring for his mother (Molly Shannon) as she dies of cancer. It was the second time Shannon took center stage at Outfest; the Saturday Night Live legend also wowed the crowd at Miles, a heartfelt coming-of-age story that took home the U.S. Narrative Audience Award.

There were many other stellar productions honored by Outfest this year. Reflecting its commitment to showcasing the stories of the "'other' other" on its opening night, the festival awarded its U.S. Grand Jury Prize to Andrew Ahn's Spa Night for its "evocative narrative" about a Korean-American family in Los Angeles and recognized an actor in the film, Joe Seo, for "his striking ability to convey inner turmoil rising to the surface." Outfest also praised the "nuanced, multidimensional portrait of interracial love" in the French production Being 17 and writer Ingrid Jungermann's "powerhouse of a script" in her thriller Women Who Kill.

In documentaries, Outfest raved about the "electric" Kiki "for highlighting the diverse array of issues facing black LGBTQ people today" and Major! for showcasing the "legendary" Stonewall activist Miss Major. It awarded Southwest of Salem: The Story of the San Antonio Four, a documentary about four lesbians fighting for their innocence, with its Documentary Grand Jury Prize for exposing "an egregious miscarriage of justice." The festival also honored the filmmakers of Forbidden: Undocumented and Queer in Rural America with a special programming award for countering the "hateful, divisive rhetoric aimed at both undocumented immigrants and the LGBTQ community."

See the full list of honorees below.

Audience Awards

Miles(Still: Miles)

U.S. Documentary Audience Award
Major! (Director: Annalise Ophelian)

U.S. Narrative Audience Award
Miles (Director: Nathan Adloff)

Audience Award for Best First U.S. Dramatic Feature
Suicide Kale (Director: Carly Usdin)

Grand Jury Awards

Spa Night(Still: Spa Night)

Documentary Special Mention

Documentary Grand Jury Prize
Southwest of Salem: The Story of the San Antonio Four (Director: Deborah Esquenazi)

Special Mention for Outstanding Performance
Joe Seo (Spa Night)

Best Screenwriting in a U.S. Feature
Ingrid Jungermann (Women Who Kill)

U.S. Grand Jury Prize
Andrew Ahn (Spa Night)

International Grand Jury Prize
Being 17 (Director: Andre Techine; Cowriter: Celine Sciamma)

International Special Mention
The Nest (Directors: Filipe Matzenbacher and Marcio Reolon)

Best Documentary Short
These Cocksucking Tears (Director: Dan Taberski)

Best Narrative Short
Fake It (Director: Tzurit Hartzion)

Special Mention for Artistic Achievement
B. (Director: Kai Stanicke)

Special Programming Awards

Kiki(Still: Kiki)

Emerging Talent
Twiggy Pucci Garcon and Sara Jordeno (Kiki)

Tiffany Rhynard and Moises Serrano (Forbidden: Undocumented and Queer in Rural America)

Artistic Vision
Kuba Czekaj (Baby Bump)

Advocate Magazine - Gio BenitezAdvocate Channel Promotion

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories