Kimberly Peirce, Kevin Smith, South Park creators to be honored by People for the American Way

Out filmmaker Kimberly Peirce (Boys Don't Cry) and gay-friendly comedymeisters Kevin Smith (Dogma, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back) and Matt Parker and Trey Stone (South Park) will be honored at the 20th anniversary Spirit of Liberty Awards dinner on December 11 in Beverly Hills, Calif. The event, sponsored by People for the American Way, "recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the values of the American way." Rocker Neil Young will be given the Spirit of Liberty lifetime achievement award, while Peirce, Smith, Parker, and Stone will receive Defender of Democracy awards. PAW will also present California congresswoman Nancy Pelosi with the Spirit of Liberty award. A statement from the organization read, "These individuals...have taken public stands to support a free, open, and democratic society through their art and work, educating while entertaining, and courageously addressing today's most fundamental social and political issues."

Latest videos on Advocate

From our Sponsors