Christine Vachon honored by National Board of Review

Out producer Christine Vachon, whose many acclaimed independent films include Boys Don't Cry, Far From Heaven, One Hour Photo, and Camp, is one of three honorees of the National Board of Review's 2004 Producer's Award. Vachon will be honored alongside Gale Anne Hurd (Aliens) and Kathleen Kennedy (Seabiscuit). Vachon's award was announced Wednesday alongside the NBR's annual list of awards, which included Best Foreign Film honors for the gay-inclusive The Barbarian Invasions, the Best Film Made for Cable TV going to HBO's adaptation of Tony Kushner's Angels in America, and a Breakthrough Performance award for Charlize Theron's portrayal of lesbian serial killer Aileen Wuornos in Monster.

The NBR is a group of film aficionados rather than professional film critics, but the organization is usually first among awards-giving bodies in the year-end pre-Oscar season. Here is a complete list of the 2003 National Board of Review awards:

Best Film: Mystic River
Top Ten Films: Mystic River, The Last Samurai, The Station Agent, 21 Grams, House of Sand and Fog, Lost in Translation, Cold Mountain, In America, Seabiscuit, Master and Commander
Best Foreign Film: The Barbarian Invasions
Top Five Foreign Films: The Barbarian Invasions, Best of Youth, Monsieur Ibrahim, Autumn Spring, The Man on the Train
Best Documentary: The Fog of War
Top Five Documentaries: The Fog of War, Capturing the Friedmans, My Architect, Winged Migration, Spellbound
Best Actor: Sean Penn, Mystic River and 21 Grams
Best Actress: Diane Keaton, Something's Gotta Give
Best Supporting Actor: Alec Baldwin, The Cooler
Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Clarkson, Pieces of April and The Station Agent
Best Acting by an Ensemble: The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King
Breakthrough Performance, Actor: Paul Giamatti, American Splendor
Breakthrough Performance, Actress: Charlize Theron, Monster
Best Director: Edward Zwick, The Last Samurai
Best Directorial Debut: Vadim Perelman, House of Sand and Fog
Best Adapted Screenplay: Cold Mountain, Anthony Minghella
Best Original Screenplay: In America, Jim Sheridan, Naomi and Kirsten Sheridan
Best Animated Feature: Finding Nemo
Best Film or Miniseries Made for Cable TV: Angels in America
Billy Wilder Award for Excellence in Directing: Norman Jewison
Career Achievement, Film Music Composition: Hans Zimmer
Career Achievement, Cinematography: John Toll
William K. Everson Award for Film History: Richard LaGravenese and Ted Demme for A Decade Under the Influence
Producer's Award: Gale Anne Hurd, Kathleen Kennedy, and Christine Vachon

Latest videos on Advocate

From our Sponsors