Scroll To Top
Arts & Entertainment

Lambda Lit Awards Honor Clinton, Kramer, McIntyre

Lambda Lit Awards Honor Clinton, Kramer, McIntyre


The Lambda Literary Foundation held the 22nd Annual Lambda Literary Awards on Thursday in New York City. In addition to awards in 23 categories, the 2010 Pioneer Awards were presented to comedian and writer Kate Clinton and activist and author Larry Kramer.

According to a news release from the awards, "The judges assessed 462 LGBT-interest titles nominated in 23 categories, selecting 113 finalists from LGBT-specific presses academic publishers and mainstream trade houses.

"Of those 113 finalists, 24 winners were announced (including 1 tie). Winners included Ariel Gore, editor of the anthology Portland Queer: Tales of the Rose City; Catherynne M. Valente, author of the fantasy novel Palimpsest; and Vestal McIntyre author of the novel, Lake Overturn.

"Two $1,000 cash prizes were given out to debut fiction authors Rakesh Satyal (Blue Boy) and Rhiannon Argo (The Creamsickle). The Betty Berzon Debut Fiction Award is named after long-time LGBT activist and author, Betty Berzon.

2010 Pioneer Awards were also given to Larry Kramer and Kate Clinton."

Read the full news release here.

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Julie Bolcer