Scroll To Top
World announces its first annual HIV Leadership Awards winners (16181)

16181Health News2005-05-28 announces its first annual HIV Leadership Awards winners

The HIV-related Web site this week announced the winners of its first annual HIV Leadership Awards. The awards were created to honor HIV-positive people, health care providers, and those working in the AIDS arena who are making significant contributions to improving the lives of HIV-positive people and furthering the fight against the disease. The Web site received hundreds of nominations with nominees coming from all 50 states. Panels of professionals judged each of the six award categories: HIV-positive people, physicians, nurses, physician assistants and nurse practitioners, prevention educators, and case managers and social workers. The winners are:

HIV-positive people: Regina Brandon, a Los Angeles HIV outreach worker; Troy Duke, a Virginia-based peer counselor for military personnel diagnosed with HIV infection; Kathleen Gerus-Darbison, a Macomb, Mich., resident who leads workshops and craft classes for HIV-positive women; Sherri Kaplan, founder of an organization for HIV-positive heterosexuals in Miami; Michelle Lopez, an HIV-positive lesbian and mother in Bronx, N.Y.; Robert Mintz, a Kansas City, Mo., Vietnam veteran who raises HIV awareness in the African-American community; Todd Murray of San Francisco, the cofounder of two nonprofit HIV organizations; Carlos Perez of Chicago, who advocates for HIV-positive people to stay in good health; Chris Poorman, a transgender woman in Pennsylvania who promotes AIDS awareness; and Matthew Seymour, a legal advocate for HIV-positive people in Dallas.

Physicians: Joseph Bick of Vacaville, Calif.; J. Kevin Carmichael of Tucson, Ariz.; Eric S. Daar of Los Angeles; Charles F. Farthing of Los Angeles; Hunter A. Hammill of Houston; Keith Henry of Minneapolis; Kristen M. Ries of Salt Lake City; Scott A. Russell of Biloxi, Miss.; Karen Tashima of Providence, R.I.; and Ben Young of Denver.

Nurses: Cyndee Burton of Henderson, Ky.; Charon Callaway of Columbus, Ohio; Sandra Charles of San Francisco; Jacqui Pitt of Torrance, Calif.; Janice Price of Seattle; Mary Lynn Purcell of Decatur, Ga.; Pamela Sherwood of New Port Richey, Fla.; Jodi Tullman of San Antonio; Guy Vandenburg of San Francisco; and Debbie Winters of Hillsborough, N.J.

Physician assistants and nurse practitioners: Michael Bauguess of Chico, Calif.; Barbara Lewis of Washington, D.C.; Carol "Maggie" Snyder of Salt Lake City; Paul Stabile of New York City; Joel Wesley of Charlotte, N.C.; Jeanne Dumestre of New Orleans; Tari Gilbert of San Diego; Bethsheba Johnson of Chicago; Alice Myerson of Bronx, N.Y.; Joni Nickens of St. Gabriel, La.; and Helen Rominger of Indianapolis.

Prevention educators: Lori Ann Bradford of Severna Park, Md.; Elsa Burgess-Flores of Douglas, Ariz.; Julie Davids of New York City; Larry Farrell of Pocatello, Idaho; Perry Halkitis of New York City; Fred Klingenhagen of Winter Park, Fla.; Fritz Lolagne of Orlando, Fla.; Brian Risley of Los Angeles; Rachel Tate of Los Angeles; and Ed Wolf of San Francisco.

Case managers and social workers: Rudolph Antonio of Bronx, N.Y.; Nancy Cataldi of New York City; Awilda Gonzalez-Vega of Stone Mountain, Ga.; Joni Lavick of Los Angeles; Karen McGee of Jacksonville, Fla.; Philomena McGee of Hartford, Conn.; Beatrice Rodriguez of Allentown, Pa.; Yolanda Rodriguez-Escobar of San Antonio; D. Wing Takakuwa of Kona, Hawaii; and Michael Valentine of Newark, N.J.

A full list of winners and in-depth interviews with each award winner can be found online at

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Outtraveler Staff