Scroll To Top

173 Republicans Voted Against the Equality Act—8 Voted for It

173 Republicans Voted Against the Equality Act—8 Voted for It

The House was only able to pass the LGBTQ-inclusive Equality Act because it has a Democratic majority.

Even though its future is highly in doubt, the Equality Act -- which would federally ban discrimination against LGBTQ people -- advanced today when the legislation cleared the House of Representatives on a vote of 236-173.

Every Democrat present for the vote gave a thumbs-up to the bill, while nearly all Republicans were a "no." Of the 197 Republicans in the House, 173 voted against the Equality Act, 16 were not present or didn't vote, and eight said "yes."

Here are the eight House Republicans who put equality before party:

01-susan-brooks-gettyimages-149586446Susan Brooks, Indiana's Fifth Congressional District

02-brian-fitzpatrick-gettyimages-903427072Brian Fitzpatrick, Pennsylvania's First Congressional District

Gettyimages-492381240Elise Stefanik, New York's 21st Congressional District

04-greg-walden-gettyimages-1027231338Greg Walden, Oregon's Second Congressional District

05-john-katko-gettyimages-476551588John Katko, New York's 24th Congressional District

06-mario-diaz-balart-gettyimages-956603962Mario Diaz-Balart, Florida's 25th Congressional District

07-tom-reedgettyimages-1134739188Tom Reed, New York's 23rd Congressional District

08-will-hurd-gettyimages-905755984Will Hurd, Texas's 23rd Congressional District

Advocate Magazine - KehlaniAdvocate Channel Promotion

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories