Scroll To Top
Arts & Entertainment

Manhattan, The Sound of Music added to National Film Registry

Manhattan, The Sound of Music added to National Film Registry

The Library of Congress has added another 25 films to the National Film Registry, among them GLBT cult favorite The Sound of Music as well as Woody Allen's Manhattan, which costars Meryl Streep as the Allen character's lesbian ex-wife. Being placed on the registry ensures that these films will remain preserved, either through the library's preservation program in Dayton, Ohio, or in collaborative ventures with film archives, studios, and independent producers. Here is a complete list of the 2001 additions to the registry: Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948), All That Jazz (1979), All the King's Men (1949), America, America (1963), Cologne: From the Diary of Ray and Esther (1939), Evidence of the Film (1913), Hoosiers (1986), The House in the Middle (1954), It (1927), Jam Session (1942), Jaws (1975), Manhattan (1979), Marian Anderson: The Lincoln Memorial Concert (1939), Memphis Belle (1944), The Miracle of Morgan's Creek (1944), Miss Lulu Bett (1921), National Lampoon's Animal House (1978), Planet of the Apes (1968), Rose Hobart (1936), Serene Velocity (1970), The Sound of Music (1965), Stormy Weather (1943), The Tell-Tale Heart (1953), The Thin Blue Line (1988), and The Thing From Another World (1951).

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories Editors