Scroll To Top

Outfest LGBT Film Festival Announces 2015 Honorees

Outfest LGBT Film Festival Announces 2015 Honorees


See the list of films honored by this year's jury and audience.

Outfest has announced the award-winners from this year's film festival.

The Outfest Los Angeles LGBT Film Festival unveiled the honorees Sunday at the Directors Guild of America. The festival opened July 9 with Tig, a documentary on comedian Tig Notaro, and closed Sunday with a screening of The New Girlfriend, a gender-bending French drama by Francois Ozon.

Jury prize winners included Nasty Baby (Kristen Wiig),a black comedy about surrogacy directed by Sebastian Silva, as well as Everlasting Love, an international thriller about a student-teacher affair. A Sinner in Mecca, a film by Parvez Sharma about being gay and Muslim, also took home an award for best documentary feature.

The blue-collar coming-out story Fourth Man Out, starring Chord Overstreet and Kate Flannery; a documentary on DJ Marco Collins and '90s grunge music, The Glamour and the Squalor; and Those People, a drama about same-sex love on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, were among those honored by Outfest audience members.

See the full list of winners below.

Audience Awards

Thosepeople_05_0(Still: Those People)

Documentary Short
A Place in the Middle (Director: Dean Hamer)

Dramatic Short
The Letter (Director: Angeles Cruz)

Documentary Feature
The Glamour and the Squalor (Director: Marq Evans)

Dramatic Feature
Fourth Man Out (Director: Andrew Nackman)

First U.S. Dramatic Feature
Those People (Director: Joey Kuhn)

Grand Jury Awards

Nandm_convox633_0(Still: Naz and Maalik)

Documentary Feature Special Recognition
Tchindas (Director: Pablo Garcia Perez de Lara)

Documentary Feature Winner
A Sinner in Mecca (Director: Parvez Sharma)

Actor in a U.S. Dramatic Feature
Curtis Cook Jr. and Kerwin Johnson Jr. (Naz and Maalik)

Actress in a U.S. Dramatic Feature
Judy Greer (Addicted to Fresno)

Screenwriting in a U.S. Dramatic Feature
Carlos Ciurlizza and Mauricio Hoyos (Sebastian)

U.S. Dramatic Feature Film
Nasty Baby (Director: Sebastian Silva)

International Dramatic Feature
Everlasting Love (Director: Marcal Fores)

Documentary Short Film
Brockington (Directors: Maggie Sloane, Mason Sklut, Sergio Ingato)

Experimental Short Film
The Lamps (Director: Shelly Silver)

Dramatic Short Film
Tremulo (Director: Roberto Fiesco)

Special Jury Mention
We Can't Live Without Cosmos (Director: Konstantin Bronzit)

Special Programming Awards

Carmin_tropical_0(Still: Carmin Tropical)

Emerging Talent
Hillevi Loven (Deep Run)

Jim Chuchu and the NEST Collective (Stories of Our Lives)

Artistic Achievement
Rigoberto Perezcano (Carmin Tropical)

Photos courtesy of Outfest

Advocate Magazine - KehlaniAdvocate Channel Promotion

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories