Scroll To Top

John Cameron Mitchell, <i>Beaver Trilogy</i> honored by L.A. film critics (2141)

2141Entertainment News2001-12-18

John Cameron Mitchell, Beaver Trilogy honored by L.A. film critics

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association announced their 2001 winners Saturday, with Hedwig and the Angry Inch writer-director-star John Cameron Mitchell honored with the New Generation Award, while Trent Harris's Beaver Trilogy--which includes a drag queen impersonating Olivia Newton-John, and Sean Penn and Crispin Glover impersonating the drag queen--won for Independent/Experimental Film. Kate Winslet received Best Supporting Actress for her performance as bisexual novelist Iris Murdoch in Iris, while Jim Broadbent was named Best Supporting Actor for his work in both Iris and Moulin Rouge. The day's big winner was the drama In the Bedroom, lauded as Best Picture, with Sissy Spacek named Best Actress. The 27th annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards will be presented January 22 in Santa Monica, Calif.

Here is a complete list of winners and runners-up:

Best Picture: In the Bedroom (runner-up: Mulholland Drive)

Best Actor: Denzel Washington, Training Day (runner-up: Tom Wilkinson, In the Bedroom)

Best Actress: Sissy Spacek, In the Bedroom (runner-up: Naomi Watts, Mulholland Drive)

Best Supporting Actor: Jim Broadbent, Iris and Moulin Rouge (runner-up: Ben Kingsley, Sexy Beast)

Best Supporting Actress: Kate Winslet, Iris (runner-up: Helen Mirren, Gosford Park and Last Orders)

Best Screenplay: Christopher Nolan, Memento (runner-up: Daniel Clowes and Terry Zwigoff, Ghost World)

Best Director: David Lynch, Mulholland Drive (runner-up: Robert Altman, Gosford Park)

Best Score: Howard Shore, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings (runner-up: Stephen Trask, Hedwig and the Angry Inch)

Best Production Design: Catherine Martin, Moulin Rouge (runner-up: Grant Major, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring)

Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins, The Man Who Wasn't There (runner-up: Christopher Doyle and Pin Bing Lee, In the Mood for Love)

New Generation Award: John Cameron Mitchell

Independent/Experimental Film: The Beaver Trilogy

Best Documentary: The Gleaners and I (runner-up:

Best Foreign-Language Film: No Man's Land (runner-up: In the Mood for Love)

Best Animation: Shrek (runner-up: Monsters, Inc.)

Career Achievement: Ennio Morricone

Special Citation: Joe Grant, "for lasting contributions to the art of animation from the 1930s to infinity and beyond."

From the archives of The Advocate
06/06/01: Clothes that cancan
The straight woman and the gay man behind the amazing look of Moulin Rouge talk knickers, female drag, and Nicole Kidman
By Lori Kaye

30 Years of Out100Out / Advocate Magazine - Jonathan Groff & Wayne Brady

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories Editors