Tom Daley
Subscribe To
The Advocate
Scroll To Top

LGBTQ Journalists Heap Nominations on The Favourite, Roma

Dorian Awards

GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics announced its nominees for its milestone 10th Dorian Awards for the best in film and television of 2018.

Leading in the movie categories with eight nominations is the powerhouse lesbian tale, The Favourite, followed by If Beale Street Could Talk, Can You Ever Forgive Me, and Roma with six nods each, and A Star Is Born, with four. The latest retelling of A Star Is Born also nabbed nominations for the film's stars, Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga, both up for performance honors as well as GALECA's Wilde Artist of the Year award.

In TV categories, FX’s transgender-empowering drama Pose and BBC America’s biting cat-and-mouse thriller Killing Eve lead among drama series. The stars of Killing Eve, Sandra Oh and Jodie Comer, are both nominated for TV Performance, Best Actress awards. Meanwhile, Hugh Grant and his A Very English Scandal costar Ben Whishaw face each other on the gentlemen’s side.

Also making a fresh impression with GALECA, which comprises over 200 journalists in the U.S., Canada, Australia and the U.K., is HBO’s hitman comedy Barry, Pop network’s rich-family satire Schitt’s Creek, and Julia Roberts and her cryptic new Amazon conspiracy tale Homecoming.

“We’re thrilled by the strong variety of films and TV performances our diverse group of members has chosen to praise,” said Diane Anderson-Minshall, GALECA president and editorial director of The Advocate. "In a lovely compliment to the Time’s Up movement, several categories, including Wilde Artist of the Year, Wilde Wit of the Year, and Rising Star, are dominated by women this year. And it’s inspiring that the majority of our Director of the Year nominees are people of color, including Spike Lee, Barry Jenkins, and Alfonso Cuarón.”

“It’s hard to believe this is our 10th go-around of giving out our Dorian Awards,” added GALECA’s executive director John Griffiths. “In such oddly combative times, that’s really something to covfefe.”

Radio personality Frank DeCaro (The Daily Show, Sirius XM’s The Frank DeCaro Show) will preside as Master of Ceremonies at the invitation-only 10th Dorian Awards Winners Toast on Saturday, January 12 in Los Angeles, where the winners will be announced. 

Since GALECA’s first film and TV favorites were named in 2010, over 200 artists and productions have received a Dorian Award, while over 1,000 have received nominations. Check out this year's nominees here:  

Film of the Year: 

Can You Ever Forgive Me? 

The Favourite 

If Beale Street Could Talk


A Star Is Born


Director of the Year (Film or Television): 

Alfonso Cuaron, Roma 

Marielle Heller, Can You Ever Forgive Me? 

Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could Talk

Yorgos Lanthimos, The Favourite 

Spike Lee, Blackkklansman


Film Performance of the Year — Actress 

Yalitza Aparicio, Roma

Toni Collette, Hereditary 

Olivia Colman, The Favourite 

Lady Gaga, A Star Is Born

Melissa McCarthy, Can You Ever Forgive Me? 


Film Performance of the Year — Actor 

Christian Bale, Vice

Bradley Cooper, A Star Is Born

Ethan Hawke, First Reformed

Rami Malek, Bohemian Rhapsody 

John David Washington, Blackkklansman


Film Performance of the Year — Supporting Actress 

Elizabeth Debicki, Widows

Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk

Emma Stone, The Favourite 

Rachel Weisz, The Favourite

Michelle Yeoh, Crazy Rich Asians


Film Performance of the Year — Supporting Actor

Mahershala Ali, Green Book

Timothee Chalamet, Beutiful Boy

Sam Elliott, A Star Is Born

Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me? 

Michael B. Jordan, Black Panther 


LGBTQ Film of the Year 

Boy Erased 

Can You Ever Forgive Me?


The Favourite

Love Simon


Foreign Language Film of the Year



Cold War




Screenplay of the Year 

Bo Burnham, Eight Grade 

Alfonso Cuaron, Roma 

Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara, The Favourite 

Nicole Holofcenter and Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me? 

Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could Talk?


Documentary of the Year 

Free Solo 



Three Identical Strangers 

Won’t You Be My Neighbor? 


LGBTQ Documentary of the Year 

The Gospel According to Andre


Scotty and the Secret History of Hollywood

Studio 54



Visually Striking Film of the Year 


Black Panther

The Favourite

If Beale Street Could Talk



Unsung Film of the Year 



The Happy Prince


We the Animals



Campy Flick of the Year 


Book Club

Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again

A Simple Favor



TV Drama of the Year

The Assassination of Gianne Versace: American Crime Story 

The Handmaid’s Tale 


Killing Eve 



TV Comedy of the Year



The Good Place

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel 

Schitt’s Creek


TV Performance of the Year — Actor 

Darren Criss, The Assassination of Gianne Versace: American Crime Story 

Hugh Grant, A Very English Scandal 

Billy Porter, Pose

Matthew Rhys, The Americans 

Ben Whishaw, A Very English Scandal 


TV Performance of the Year — Actress 

Amy Adams, Sharp Objects 

Rachel Brosnahan, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel 

Jodie Comer, Killing Eve

Sandra Oh, Killing Eve

Julia Roberts, Homecoming 


LGBTQ TV Show of the Year 

A Very English Scandal 

The Assassination of Gianne Versace: American Crime Story 

Killing Eve


Queer Eye 

Unsung TV Show of the Year

The Bisexual 

Dear White People

The Good Fight

One Day At a Time

Schitt’s Creek


TV Current Affairs Show of the Year

The Daily Show With Trevor Noah

Full Frontal With Samantha Bee

Last Week Tonight With John Oliver

The Late Show With Stephen Colbert

The Rachel Maddow Show 


TV Musical Performance of the Year

Adam Lambert, “Believe,” 41st Kennedy Center Honors

Billy Porter, MJ Rodriguez, and Our Lady J, “Home,” Pose 

Noah Reid, “Simply The Best,” Schitt’s Creek

Keala Settle, “This Is Me,” 90th Academy Awards

Sufjan Stevens, “Mystery Love,” 90th Academy Awards 


Campy TV Show of the Year

American Horror Story: Apocalypse 

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina

Queer Eye


RuPaul’s Drag Race


The "We’re Wilde About You!" Rising Star Award


Elsie Fisher

Henry Golding

Indya Moore

Mj Rodriguez 


Wilde Wit of the Year (Honoring a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse): 

Samantha Bee

Hannah Gadsby

Kate McKinnon

John Oliver

Michelle Wolf


Wilde Artist of the Year (Honoring a truly groundbreaking force in film, stage and/or television): 

Bradley Copper

Hannah Gadsby

Lady Gaga

Nicole Kidman

Ryan Murphy 

From our Sponsors

    Watch Now: Pride Today
    Trending Stories & News