Millie and The Goat top Drama Desk Awards

The 47th Drama Desk Awards were presented Sunday, with Thoroughly Modern Millie and The Goat, or Who is Sylvia? among the top prizewinners. Variety reports that Millie, the brainchild of out producer Dick Scanlan, took home the most awards--five, including Best New Musical. Gay playwright Edward Albee's The Goat, or Who is Sylvia? tied with Metamorphoses as Best New Drama. Other winners include Noël Coward's Private Lives (Best Revival Play) and Stephen Sondheim's Into the Woods (Best Revival Musical), and out fashion designer Isaac Mizrahi was honored for his costumes for The Women.

Here is a complete list of the winners of the 47th Drama Desk Awards:

New Musical: Thoroughly Modern Millie

New Drama (tie): The Goat, or Who is Sylvia? and Metamorphoses

Actor in a Play: Alan Bates, Fortune's Fool

Actor in a Musical: John Lithgow, Sweet Smell of Success

Actress in a Play: Lindsay Duncan, Private Lives

Actress in a Musical: Sutton Foster, Thoroughly Modern Millie

Revival Play: Private Lives

Revival Musical: Into the Woods

Featured Actor in a Musical: Shuler Hensley, Oklahoma!

Featured Actor in a Play: Frank Langella, Fortune's Fool

Featured Actress in a Musical: Harriet Harris, Thoroughly Modern Millie

Featured Actress in a Play: Kate Finneran, Noises Off

Choreographer: Susan Stroman, Oklahoma!

Director, Play: Mary Zimmerman, Metamorphoses

Director, Musical: Michael Mayer, Thoroughly Modern Millie

Book of a Musical: John Lahr, Elaine Stritch, Elaine Stritch at Liberty

Music-Lyrics: Jason Robert Brown, The Last Five Years

Orchestration: Doug Besterman, Ralph Burns, Thoroughly Modern Millie

Music: Willy Schwarz: Metamorphoses

Costumes: Isaac Mizrahi, The Women

Scenic Design in a Play: Tim Hatley, Private Lives

Scenic Design in a Musical: Douglas W. Schmidt, Into the Woods

Lighting Design: T.J. Gerckens, Metamorphoses

Sound Design: Dan Moses Schreier, Into the Woods

Solo Performance: Elaine Stritch, Elaine Stritch at Liberty

Latest videos on Advocate

From our Sponsors