Scroll To Top
Arts & Entertainment

Monster picks up two at Independent Spirit Awards

Monster picks up two at Independent Spirit Awards

Monster, writer-director Patty Jenkins's portrait of lesbian multiple murderer Aileen Wuornos, picked up two prizes at Saturday's Independent Spirit Awards. The film was honored as Best First Feature and scored another Best Actress award for Charlize Theron, who starred as Wuornos and won an Oscar Sunday for her work in the film. Apart from a spree for Sofia Coppola's Lost in Translation, the awards were spread among several of 2003's leading independent movies. The Independent Spirit Awards are presented annually by the Independent Feature Project and celebrate achievement in indie cinema. Out filmmaker John Waters once again served as host for the awards. Here is a complete list of winners from the 2004 IFP Independent Spirit Awards: Best Feature: Lost in Translation Best Director: Sofia Coppola, Lost in Translation Best Screenplay: Sofia Coppola, Lost in Translation Best First Feature: Monster Best First Screenplay: Thomas McCarthy, The Station Agent John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature Made for Under $500,000): The Station Agent Best Debut Performance: Nikki Reed, Thirteen Best Supporting Female: Shohreh Aghdashloo, House of Sand and Fog Best Supporting Male: Djimon Hounsou, In America Best Female Lead: Charlize Theron, Monster Best Male Lead: Bill Murray, Lost in Translation Best Cinematography: Declan Quinn, In America Best Foreign Film: Whale Rider Best Documentary: The Fog of War Producers Award: Mary Jane Skalski (The Station Agent, The Jimmy Show) Turning Leaf Someone to Watch Award: Andrew Bujalski (Funny Ha Ha) DIRECTV/IFC Truer Than Fiction Award: Lost Boys of Sudan Special Distinction Award: 21 Grams

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Outtraveler Staff