Brokeback the favorite of Florida critics

Further proving
the red-state appeal of the poignant gay Western romance,
Brokeback Mountain was 2005's big winner with
the Florida Film Critics Circle, winning awards for Best
Picture, Best Director (Ang Lee), Best Screenplay
(Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana, adapting the novella
by Annie Proulx), and Best Cinematography (Rodrigo
Prieto). Variety reports that the group of 14
critics also honored Philip Seymour Hoffman for his
portrayal of gay writer Truman Capote in
Capote. Other honorees included Reese
Witherspoon as Best Actress in Walk the Line;
Paul Giamatti as Best Supporting Actor in Cinderella
; Amy Adams as Best Supporting Actress in
Junebug; Kung Fu Hustle as Best Foreign Film;
Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the
as Best Animated Film; and Grizzly
as Best Documentary. The Pauline Kael Breakout
Award went to Terence Howard for Hustle &
and Crash. (

Latest videos on Advocate

From our Sponsors