Scroll To Top
Arts & Entertainment

2006 Stonewall
Book Award winners announced

2006 Stonewall
Book Award winners announced

The American Library Association on Sunday announced the winners of the 2006 Stonewall Book Awards. Each year the ALA bestows one award for literature and one for nonfiction to "English-language books of exceptional merit relating to the [LGBT] experience."

The Barbara Gittings Book Award in Literature went to Abha Dawesar, author of Babyji(Anchor Books), a coming-of-age tale about a free-spirited lesbian teenager in New Delhi; and the Israel Fishman Book Award for Nonfiction went to Joshua Gamson, author ofThe Fabulous Sylvester: The Legend, the Music, the '70s in San Francisco(Henry Holt and Co.), a look at the life of disco singer Sylvester James. The awards will be presented at the 2006 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans in June.

Other honorees in the literature category include Acqua Caldaby Keith McDermott (Carroll & Graf),The First Verseby Barry McCrea (Carroll & Graf),Mother of Sorrowsby Richard McCann (Pantheon), andThe Wild Creatures: Collected Stories of Sam D'Allesandro, edited by Kevin Killian (Suspect Thoughts).

In the nonfiction category, honorees include My One-night Stand With Cancerby Tania Katan (Alyson),Queer London: Perils and Pleasures in the Sexual Metropolis, 1918-1957by Matt Houlbrook (University of Chicago),The Secret Life of Oscar Wildeby Neil McKenna (Basic Books), andThe Tragedy of Today's Gaysby Larry Kramer (Tarcher/Penguin).

Since 1971, when Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarahreceived the first award, a total of 48 books have been recognized, according to an ALA statement. (

30 Years of Out100Out / Advocate Magazine - Jonathan Groff & Wayne Brady

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Outtraveler Staff