Scroll To Top

WATCH: Cherry Jones, Harvey Fierstein, NPH Get Tony Nods

WATCH: Cherry Jones, Harvey Fierstein, NPH Get Tony Nods


Nominations have been announced for the 68th annual Tony Awards, which honor Broadway's best.

Neil Patrick Harris, Harvey Fierstein, and Cherry Jones are among the many gay nominees and honorees announced today for this year's Tony Awards, which will be presented June 8.

Harris is nominated for Best Actor in a Musical for his role as Hedwig, an East German singer living as a female after gender-reassignment surgery, in Hedwig and the Angry Inch, which is nominated for Best Revival of a Musical. He is up against Ramin Karimloo for Les Miserables, Andy Karl for Rocky, and A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder stars Jefferson Mays and Bryce Pinkham.

Hedwig's eight nominations also include recognition for out director Michael Mayer and for supporting actress Lena Hall, who plays Hedwig's husband.

Jones is nominated for Best Actress in a Play for her role as fading Southern belle Amanda Wingfield in the Tennessee Williams classic The Glass Menagerie, which is nominated for Best Revival of a Play. She will compete against Tyne Daly for Mothers and Sons, Latanya Richardson Jackson for A Raisin in the Sun, Audra McDonald for Lady Day at Emerson's Bar and Grill, and Estelle Parsons for The Velocity of Autumn.

Fierstein's Casa Valentina, his new play about straight men who congregate in the Catskills to dress and act like women, is nominated for Best Play. Its competition includes Terrence McNally's gay-themed drama Mothers and Sons.

Other out nominees include actors Samuel Barnett and Stephen Fry for their performances in the all-male production of Shakespeare's Twelfth Night.

Notably absent from the nominations are Zachary Quinto for The Glass Menagerie and Ian McKellen (along with bromantic Twitter buddy Patrick Stewart) for the double bill of Waiting for Godot and No Man's Land.

It was previously announced that Rosie O'Donnell will receive the Isabelle Stevenson Award, presented "annually to a member of the theatre community who has made a substantial contribution of volunteered time and effort on behalf of one or more humanitarian, social service or charitable organizations." O'Donnell is being honored for her commitment to arts education for New York City's public school children.

The awards show, hosted by Hugh Jackman, will be broadcast live June 8 on CBS.

See a full list of nominees here, and watch Looking star Jonathan Groff and Elementary star Lucy Liu announce the nominations below.

30 Years of Out100Out / Advocate Magazine - Jonathan Groff & Wayne Brady

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Brandon Voss