Scroll To Top

Gay Marriage Licenses Now in New Hampshire


Attention, early birds. Same-sex couples may now apply for marriage licenses in New Hampshire, although ceremonies cannot be performed until the new law takes effect on January 1.

Marriage licenses are valid for three months from the date of purchase, at which point they expire, according to the Boston Herald.

"Stephen Wurtz, acting director of the state division of vital records, said Wednesday that the licenses cost $45 and are good for 90 days," reported the Boston Herald. "Wurtz said couples who have already entered into civil unions can either get a marriage license for a new ceremony or -- at no cost -- convert the civil union to a marriage after the first of the year. Couples wishing to convert civil unions must apply at the clerk's office where the union was recorded."

Couples in civil unions who do not act will have their unions converted to marriages on January 1, 2011, when civil unions will be phased out.

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Julie Bolcer