Scroll To Top

Exclusive: 50+ LGBTQ Women, Nonbinary Activists Back Elizabeth Warren


Warren is "a strong progressive woman ... who will deliver on big, structural change for our country," the endorsers say.

More than 50 prominent LGBTQ women and nonbinary people have signed an open letter supporting Elizabeth Warren's presidential campaign.

"We are LGBTQ+ women, trans and non-binary leaders from across America," begins the letter, shared exclusively with The Advocate. "We are legislators, activists, and organizers who have been leading the fight for LGBTQ+ and Women's rights nationally and in our communities. This presidential election presents a historic choice and an opportunity to put a strong progressive woman in the White House who will deliver on big, structural change for our country. That woman is Elizabeth Warren."

The U.S. senator from Massachusetts, who is seeking the Democratic nomination, "has a track record of fighting for and creating real change to protect American families," the letter continues. She is the right candidate at a time when Donald Trump has launched hateful attacks on LGBTQ people, a conservative Supreme Court majority is positioned to strip away LGBTQ and women's rights, and transgender people of color are facing an epidemic of violence, the signatories say.

The signatories include celebrities, elected officials, and grassroots activists: singer-songwriter Melissa Etheridge, actress and writer Gaby Dunn, Transparent creator and showrunner Jill Soloway, soccer champion Megan Rapinoe, Illinois state Rep. Kelly Cassidy, Los Angeles County Supervisor Sheila Kuehl, former National Gay and Lesbian Task Force leaders Urvashi Vaid and Torie Osborn, author Brynn Tannehill, Iowa marriage equality plaintiffs Jen and Dawn BarbouRoske, Los Angeles trans activist Bamby Salcedo, and many more.

They point to Warren's plan for LGBTQ rights, which they call "one of most comprehensive and progressive sets of proposals for the queer community from a presidential nominee ever," as well as her support for universal child care, reproductive rights, and equal pay.

"As openly LGBTQ+ legislators, activists and leaders from across the country, we're proud to be endorsing a candidate for president who will make sure government works for all the people of this country," they conclude. "We are proud to support Elizabeth Warren for President."

The full list of signatories:

City Council Member Vernetta Alston, Durham, North Carolina

Jen and Dawn BarbouRoske, Civil Rights pioneers and plaintiffs in the Iowa Supreme Court case that legalized equal marriage in Iowa

City Councilor-Elect Palana Belken, Rochester, N.H.

Iowa State Representative Liz Bennett

Sybrina Bernabei, Nevada Activist

Eliza Byard, Education Advocate

Illinois State Representative Kelly Cassidy

Layshia Clarendon, First Vice President of the Women's National Basketball Players Association and Point Guard for the Connecticut Sun

Massachusetts State Senator Jo Comerford

Kade Crockford, Massachusetts Civil Rights Advocate

Mayor Pro Tempore Denise Davis of the City of Redlands, Calif.

Moira Donegan, Writer

Gaby Dunn, New York Times Best-Selling Author and Writer

Melissa Etheridge, Grammy Award-Winning Singer and Activist

Tiffani Faison, James Beard-Nominated Chef and Owner, Big Heart Hospitality

Ermiya Fanaeian, Utah Gun Control and Youth Activist

Sarah Sophie Flicker, Activist and Creative Director at FireBrand & The Citizen Band Cecilia Gentili, Trans Activist and Consultant

Alexis Goldstein, Writer and Activist

Zahara Green, Transgender Rights and Criminal Justice Activist

Chicago Alderwoman Maria Hadden

Massachusetts State Representative Natalie Higgins

Nebraska State Senator Megan Hunt

City Council President Rebecca Kaplan, Oakland, Calif.

Rhode Island State Representative Rebecca Kislak

Los Angeles County Supervisor Sheila Kuehl, first openly LGBTQ+ person elected to the California legislature

Rachel Lavine, Cofounder and Chair of the New York State Democratic Committee's Progressive Caucus

Jeffrey Marsh, Nonbinary Rights Activist and Author

Mariah Moore, Transgender Rights Activists

Robyn Ochs, Activist and Editor of Bi Women Quarterly

Torie Osborn, Former CEO of the Los Angeles LGBT Center & the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force

Town Councilor Laurie Osher, Orono, Maine

Kim Painter, Johnson County Recorder and first LGBTQ+ person elected in Iowa

Andrea L. Pino-Silva, Cofounder of End Rape on Campus

Leanne Pittsford, Founder of Lesbians Who Tech

Cindy Pollard and Gayla Snook, Newton, Iowa, Community Activists

Ashlee Marie Preston, Activist and Media Personality

Megan Rapinoe, Olympian and Activist

Cathy Renna, Owner, TargetCue and Longtime LGBTQ activist

Melissa Rodriguez, Dayton, Ohio Activist

Bamby Salcedo, Los Angeles Trans Community Activist

Melissa Sklarz, New York Progressive Activist

Nelini Stamp, National Organizing Director at the Working Families Party

Andrea Hildebran Smith, Central Florida Community Activist

Jill Soloway, Emmy and Golden Globe Award Winning Showrunner

Feroza Syed, Georgia LGBTQ+ Activist

Brynn Tannehill, Author and Founding Board Member of SPARTA

Laura Thomas, Director of Harm Reduction Policy, San Francisco AIDS Foundation

Urvashi Vaid, Author and Attorney, CEO of The Vaid Group, Cofounder LPAC, Former Executive Director National Gay & Lesbian Task Force

City Councilor Jossie Valentin, Holyoke, Mass.

New Hampshire State Representative Joyce Weston

Hope Wood, Principal, Hope Action Change Consulting

Texas State Representative Erin Zweiner

Advocate Magazine - Gio BenitezAdvocate Channel Promotion

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories