Dalila Ali Rajah
Subscribe To
The Advocate
Scroll To Top

Pose, Schitt's Creek, BooksmartTake GLAAD Media Awards

Booksmart Pose Levy

From left: Beanie Feldstein in Booksmart; Pose cast members; Dan Levy of Schitt's Creek.

Pose, Schitt’s Creek, Booksmart, Lil Nas X, Dolly Parton’s Heartstrings, The Rachel Maddow Show, and Raquel Willis of The Advocate’s sibling publication Out were among the big winners at Thursday night’s GLAAD Media Awards.

The event, the 31st annual one, went virtual this year, and GLAAD livestreamed the ceremony on Facebook and YouTube. It will also be broadcast Monday at 8 p.m. Eastern on Logo. The awards honor media for fair, accurate, and inclusive representations of LGBTQ+ people and issues.

The virtual ceremony was hosted by comedians Fortune Feimster and Gina Yashere, and featured performances by Chloe x Halle, Shea Diamond, and Ben Platt. It spotlighted the winners in seven competitive categories plus three special award winners. Videos from the ceremony are at the end of this article.


MJ Rodriguez in Pose

The competitive winners featured in the ceremony were as follows: Lil Nas X took home the award for Outstanding Music Artist, the cast and producers of Pose accepted the award for Outstanding Drama Series for the second year in a row, Schitt’s Creek won for Outstanding Comedy Series, Booksmart took home the award for Outstanding Film - Wide Release, Dolly Parton accepted the award for Outstanding Individual Episode (in a series without a regular LGBTQ character) for the Dolly Parton’s Heartstrings episode “Two Doors Down,” Rachel Maddow received the award for Outstanding TV Journalism Segment for her one-on-one interview with presidential hopeful Buttigieg, and Raquel Willis won the award for Outstanding Magazine Article for her Out article “The Trans Obituaries Project.”

During the ceremony, Ryan O’Connell accepted a Special Recognition honor for his Netflix series Special. Journalists Mark Segal and Karen Ocamb also received Special Recognition honors for their individual work as well as the critical role that LGBTQ+ media plays in driving LGBTQ acceptance forward.

Lil Nas X

Lil Nas X (Getty Images)

The virtual ceremony featured appearances by Kandi Burruss, Cara Delevingne, Kaitlyn Dever, Sonya Deville, Beanie Feldstein, Jennifer Garner, Theo Germaine, August Getty, Gigi Gorgeous Getty and Nats Getty, Jonica T. Gibbs, Harvey Guillén, Dan Levy, Demi Lovato, Rachel Maddow, Lil Nas X, Ryan O’Connell, Dolly Parton, Peppermint, the cast and producers of Pose, Geena Rocero, Angelica Ross, Lilly Singh, Benito Skinner, Brian Michael Smith, Darryl Stephens, Charli XCX, Dwyane Wade and Gabrielle Union, Lena Waithe, Olivia Wilde, Raquel Willis, and GLAAD President and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis.

“During this era of political and cultural division, LGBTQ images in media are crucial in accelerating acceptance for the LGBTQ community and countering the dangerous rise in anti-LGBTQ rhetoric,” Ellis said. “This year’s award recipients, including Pose and Schitt’s Creek, continue to bring necessary mainstream visibility to diverse voices within the LGBTQ community, ultimately raising the bar for LGBTQ inclusion and representation in media.”

Raquel Willis

Raquel Willis (Getty Images)

Prior to the virtual ceremony, GLAAD announced the winners of the remaining GLAAD Media Awards categories on Twitter, along with acceptance speeches from each of the award recipients. Those winners and their acceptance speeches can be viewed here, and the full list of winners is below:

Outstanding Film - Wide Release: Booksmart (United Artists Releasing)

Outstanding Film - Limited Release: Rafiki (Film Movement

Outstanding Drama Series: Pose (FX)

Outstanding Comedy Series: Schitt’s Creek (Pop)

Outstanding Individual Episode (in a series w/o a regular LGBTQ character): “Two Doors Down,” Dolly Parton’s Heartstrings (Netflix)

Outstanding TV Movie: Transparent: Musicale Finale (Amazon)

Outstanding Limited Series: Tales of the City (Netflix)

Outstanding Documentary: State of Pride (YouTube)

Outstanding Kids & Family Programming (tie): The Bravest Knight (Hulu) and High School Musical: The Musical: The Series (Disney+)

Outstanding Reality Program: Are You the One? (MTV)


Beanie Feldstein and Kaitlyn Dever in Booksmart

Outstanding Music Artist: Lil Nas X, 7 (Columbia)

Outstanding Comic Book: Star Wars: Doctor Aphra by Simon Spurrier, Emilio Laiso, Andrea Broccardo, Wilton Santos, Caspar Wijngaard, Marc Deering, Don Ho, Walden Wong, Chris Bolson, Scott Hanna, Elsa Charretier, Rachelle Rosenberg, Chris O'Halloran, Stephane Paitreau, Lee Loughridge, Edgar Delgado, Jim Campbell, Joe Caramagna (Marvel Comics)

Outstanding Video Game: The Outer Worlds (Private Division)

Outstanding Broadway Production: The Inheritance by Matthew Lopez

Outstanding Variety or Talk Show Episode: “Jonathan Van Ness: Honey, She's an Onion With All Sorts of Layers,” The Late Show With Stephen Colbert (CBS)

Outstanding TV Journalism – Newsmagazine: “Am I Next? Trans and Targeted,” Nightline (ABC)

Outstanding TV Journalism Segment: “One-on-One With Mayor Pete Buttigieg” The Rachel Maddow Show (MSNBC)

Outstanding Newspaper Article: “Military Reports No Discharges Under Trans Ban — But Advocates Have Doubts” by Chris Johnson (Washington Blade)

Outstanding Magazine Article: “The Trans Obituaries Project” by Raquel Willis (Out)

Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage: The Advocate

Outstanding Digital Journalism Article: “Trump Administration to LGBT Couples: Your ‘Out of Wedlock’ Kids Aren’t Citizens” by Scott Bixby (TheDailyBeast.com)

Outstanding Digital Journalism – Video or Multimedia: “Stonewall 50: The Revolution,” produced by Sekiya Dorsett, Brooke Sopelsa, Elizabeth Kuhr, Shahrzad Elghanayan, Wesley Oliver, Tim Fitzsimons, Victor Limjoco (NBC OUT and Nightly Films)

Outstanding Blog: My Fabulous Disease

Cast of Schitt's Creek

Annie Murphy, Noah Reid, Dan Levy, Emily Hampshire in Schitt's Creek

Special Recognition: Special (Netflix)

Special Recognition: Karen Ocamb, former news editor, Los Angeles Blade

Special Recognition: Mark Segal, founder and publisher, Philadelphia Gay News

Outstanding Spanish-Language Scripted Television Series: El Corazón Nunca Se Equivoca (Univision)

Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism – Newsmagazine (tie): “Después de Stonewall” (CNN en Español) and “Orgullo,” Despierta América (Univision)

Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Interview: “Cómo y Cuándo Salir del Clóset,” Un Nuevo Día (Telemundo)

Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism Segment: “Amor Sin Condición,” Noticiero Univision 33 (Univision)

Outstanding Spanish-Language Digital Journalism Article: “Soy Gay y Estoy Orgulloso de Poder Decirlo: Jorge Luis Martínez, patinador mexicano” por Mario Villagrán (GQ Mexico)

Outstanding Spanish-Language Digital Journalism - Video or Multimedia: “América a Fondo: Brigitte Baptiste, el Rostro de la (bio) Diversidad” por David Casasús (EFE)


Tags: Media, GLAAD

From our Sponsors

    Watch Now: Advocate Channel
    Trending Stories & News

    For more news and videos on advocatechannel.com, click here.