Scroll To Top

Dolly Parton Announces Rockstar Tracklist and It's Everything We Want and More

Dolly Parton Announces Rockstar Tracklist and It's Everything We Want and More

Dolly Parton

The album will feature guest performances by Sting, Miley Cyrus, and Paul McCartney, to name a few.

Leave it to Dolly Parton to bring together stars from every corner of the music world. A Beatles reunion? Check. Lizzo playing flute on a "Stairway to Heaven" cover? Double check. Sting singing guest vocals on his own song? That too.

Today, the legendary country music singer, business mogul, and ally revealed the tracklist and release date for her upcoming rock album, aptly titled Rockstar.

Parton first teased the album late last year, during her acceptance speech after being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. "If I’m gonna be in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, I’m gonna have to earn it,” she said.

With 11 Grammy Awards to her name, no one can say Parton hasn't "earned it." But the country star made good on her promise and will release Rockstar, her first full-fledged rock 'n' roll album, on November 17th through her own Butterfly Records.

The real news, however, is the album's mammoth 30-song tracklist, which features some of the all-time biggest names in music.

Across Rockstar's nine original songs and 21 covers, there are some dazzling highlights, including a reunion betweenThe Beatles' bandmates Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr for "Let it Be" (which also guest features Peter Frampton and Mick Fleetwood of Fleetwood Mac).

LGBTQ+ ally P!nk and out singer-songwriter Brandi Carlile also join Parton for a rendition of The Rolling Stones's "(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction," while Miley Cyrus appears on a new version of "Wrecking Ball." Stevie Nicks will finally release a finished version of her demo track, "What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You," and Pat Benatar and spouse Neil Giraldo will accompany Parton on a cover of the rock anthem "Heartbreaker."

Other featured musicians include gay icon Elton John, Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Chris Stapleton, Linda Perry of 4 Non Blondes, and Sheryl Crow.

The only dark spot on the list is noted transphobe Kid Rock, who recently shared a video of himself shooting cans of Bud Light in protest of Anheuser-Busch’s partnership with transgender influencer Dylan Mulvaney.

Parton also revealed the album cover for Rockstar, which is available now for preorder.

The full tracklist is below:

  1. “Rockstar” (special guest Richie Sambora)
  2. “World on Fire”
  3. “Every Breath You Take” (feat. Sting)
  4. “Open Arms” (feat. Steve Perry)
  5. “Magic Man” (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
  6. “Long As I Can See the Light’ (feat. John Fogerty)
  7. “Either Or” (feat. Kid Rock)
  8. “I Want You Back” (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
  9. “What Has Rock and Roll Ever Done for You” (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
  10. “Purple Rain”
  11. “Baby, I Love Your Way” (feat. Peter Frampton)
  12. “I Hate Myself for Loving You” (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
  13. “Night Moves” (feat. Chris Stapleton)
  14. “Wrecking Ball” (feat. Miley Cyrus)
  15. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
  16. “Keep on Loving You” (feat. Kevin Cronin)
  17. “Heart of Glass” (feat. Debbie Harry)
  18. “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” (feat. Elton John)
  19. “Tried to Rock and Roll Me” (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
  20. “Stairway to Heaven” (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
  21. “We Are the Champions”
  22. “Bygones” (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
  23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
  24. “What’s Up?” (feat. Linda Perry)
  25. “You’re No Good” (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
  26. “Heartbreaker” (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
  27. “Bittersweet” (feat. Michael McDonald)
  28. “I Dreamed About Elvis” (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
  29. “Let It Be” (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
  30. “Free Bird” (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)
Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Dylan Reber