Scroll To Top
Arts & Entertainment

Gay and Lesbian Critics Group Announces Award Nominations

Gay and Lesbian Critics Group Announces Award Nominations


See the contenders in a variety of film and TV categories, including both the typical and the unusual, such as Campy Flick of the Year.

Hot on the heels of the Golden Globe Awards ceremony and days before the Oscar nominations come out, the Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association today announced the nominees for its Dorian Awards, honoring achievements in film and television.

The group, made up of more than 100 LGBT and allied journalists nationwide, honors projects both with and without LGBT content. It has nominated some of the same films, shows, and performances turning up on other awards lists, but it has made room for others in specialized categories such as LGBTQ Film of the Year and Campy Flick of the Year.

Also, lifetime achievement honor, the Timeless Star Award, will go to out actor and activist George Takei. Previous recipients include Lily Tomlin and Sir Ian McKellen.

The winners in competitive categories will be announced January 20 and feted at the critics group's annual Winners Toast March 1 in Los Angeles. The Dorian Awards are named in honor of Oscar Wilde's novel The Picture of Dorian Gray.

The nominees for Film of the Year are Birdman, Boyhood, The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game, and Pride. For honors in directing, the contenders are Wes Anderson for The Grand Budapest Hotel, Ava DuVernay for Selma, David Fincher for Gone Girl, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu for Birdman, and Richard Linklater for Boyhood.

Nominated for Film Performance of the Year by an actor are Steve Carell for Foxcatcher, Benedict Cumberbatch for The Imitation Game, Jake Gyllenhaal for Nightcrawler, Michael Keaton for Birdman, and Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything. Actresses in the running are Essie Davis for The Babadook, Anne Dorval for Mommy, Julianne Moore for Still Alice, Rosamund Pike for Gone Girl, and Reese Witherspoon for Wild.

For LGBTQ Film of the Year, the nominees are The Imitation Game, Love Is Strange, Pride, Stranger by the Lake, and The Way He Looks. Love Is Strange and Pride are also nominated for Unsung Film of the Year, along with Obvious Child, The Skeleton Twins, and Snowpiercer. For Campy Flick of the Year, the contenders are Annie, Gone Girl, Into the Woods, Maleficent, and Tammy.

On the television side, nominees for TV Drama of the Year are Fargo, The Good Wife, How to Get Away With Murder, Mad Men, and The Normal Heart. TV Comedy of the Year nods go to The Comeback, Modern Family, Orange Is the New Black, Transparent, and Veep. Modern Family, OITNB, and Transparent are also in contention for LGBTQ TV Show of the Year, alongside Looking and Please Like Me.

Transparent star Jeffrey Tambor is up for TV Performance of the Year by an actor, along with Matt Bomer and Mark Ruffalo for The Normal Heart, Matthew McConaughey for True Detective, and Kevin Spacey for House of Cards. For TV Performance of the Year by an actress, the nominees are Viola Davis for How to Get Away With Murder, Lisa Kudrow for The Comeback, Julianna Margulies for The Good Wife, Tatiana Maslany for Orphan Black, and Frances McDormand for Olive Kitteridge.

In the running for TV directing honors are Lisa Cholodenko for Olive Kitteridge, Jodie Foster for OITNB, Andrew Haigh for Looking, Ryan Murphy for The Normal Heart, and Jill Soloway for Transparent.

Find additional nominees at The Wrap.

Advocate Magazine - Gio BenitezAdvocate Channel Promotion

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories