Scroll To Top
Arts & Entertainment

2002 Outmusic Awards nominees announced

2002 Outmusic Awards nominees announced

Nominees have been announced for the 2002 Outmusic Awards, which celebrate excellence in GLBT recording, songwriting, and cultural activism. The awards show, held in New York's Knitting Factory on June 9, will be hosted by Randy Jones of the Village People and his partner, Will Grega. Music pioneer Alix Dobkin will accept the first annual Outmusic Heritage Award. For more information, visit Here is a complete list of the 2002 Outmusic Award nominees: Outstanding New Recording, Female: Jamie Anderson, Listen; Lisa Koch, Both of Me; Suede, On the Day We Met Outstanding New Recording, Male: Skott Freedman, Anything Worth Mentioning; Ari Gold, Ari Gold; Sun PK, Inquire Within Outstanding New Recording, Duo, Group, or Band: The Bootlickers, Huge; The Garden Verge, Shadow of a Habit; The Three Marys, The Three Marys Outstanding Debut Recording, Female: Susan Abod, In the Moment; Amy Fix, Spoon; Alix Olson, Built Like That Outstanding Debut Recording, Male: Ari Gold, Ari Gold; Sacha Sacket, Alabaster Flesh; Sun PK, Inquire Within Outstanding New Recording, Chorus or Choir: Boston Gay Men's Chorus, Gloria; San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus, I Dream of a Time; Unison: Windy City Lesbian and Gay Singers, Shared Applause; Windy City Gay Chorus, Shared Applause Outstanding Producer: Magdalen Hsu-Li (with Ryan Hadlock and Dale Fanning), Fire; Alix Olson (with Tony Conniff and Neeve Neevel), Built Like That; Eve Sicular (Isle of Klezbos/Metropolitan Klezmer), Mosaic Persuasion Outstanding Songwriter: Alix Olson (with lyricist Neeve Neevel and composers Tony Conniff, Neeve Neevel, Pamela Means, and Chric Pureka), songs from Built Like That; Drew Paralic, songs from Too Little, Too Late; Josh Zuckerman, songs from A Totally New Sensation Out Song of the Year: "Closet" (music and lyrics by Amy Fix, performed by Amy Fix) from Spoon, "Emily Remembers" (music and lyrics by Shirley Eickhard, performed by Suede) from On the Day We Met, "Lesbian Moment" (music and lyrics by Lori Muskat and Corinne Curcio, performed by Estrogen) from Tales from Lesbianville, "Lesbian Time" (music and lyrics by Lori Muskat, performed by Estrogen) from Tales from Lesbianville, "Listen" (music and lyrics by Jamie Anderson, performed by Jamie Anderson) from Listen Outstanding Support: J.D. Doyle, Robert Drake, Daniel Jenkins Outmusician of the Year: Jamie Anderson, Kevin Hannan, Robert Urban

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Jonathan Groff and Wayne Brady

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories Editors