Scroll To Top

The Advocate Again Wins GLAAD Award for Outstanding Magazine

The Advocate Again Wins GLAAD Award for Outstanding Magazine

2022 Advocate Magazine sampling

The publication was honored along with Bros, A League of Their Own, What We Do in the Shadows, and many more.

The Advocate has won the GLAAD Media Award for Outstanding Magazine — Overall Coverage for the second consecutive year.

The award was announced along with others in a ceremony Thursday night at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles, hosted by Margaret Cho. Winners in other categories included Bros, A League of Their Own, What We Do in the Shadows, and many more, and special honors were given to Christina Aguilera, Bad Bunny, and Jeremy Pope.

The GLAAD Media Awards, first presented in 1990, honor media for fair, accurate, and inclusive representations of LGBTQ+ people and issues.

In the Outstanding Magazine — Overall Coverage category, the other nominees were Metro Weekly, People, Variety, and The Advocate’s sibling publication Out. In addition to winning the category last year, The Advocatewon it in 2020.

“It’s a privilege to have The Advocate’s work recognized by GLAAD, an organization that continues to push for better representation across media industries. LGBTQ+ journalism can be hard. Queer media outlets cover the news that affects us and the stories we need to know about — the good and the bad. So often, they tell the stories not told elsewhere,” said Alex Cooper, digital director of The Advocate. “Even in the midst of such a barrage of attacks against LGBTQ+ people, especially transgender people, it’s an honor to report on LGBTQ+ lives and to join GLAAD in contributing to a more equitable future.”

Tracy E. Gilchrist served as editor in chief for print for The Advocate during the period. She now is VP, Executive Producer of Entertainment and host of Advocate Today and Equal Entertainment.

GLAAD presented the following awards from six categories onstage:

A League of Their Own received the award for Outstanding New TV Series, presented by Joel Kim Booster and Ts Madison.

What We Do in the Shadows received the award for Outstanding Comedy Series, presented by Raven-Symoné and Isis King.

9-1-1 Lone Star received the award for Outstanding Drama Series, presented by Sarah Michelle Gellar.

Bros received the award for Outstanding Film — Wide Release, presented by Cho and Liz Jenkins, the chair of GLAAD’s Board of Directors.

Framing Agnes received the award for Outstanding Documentary, presented by Vanessa Williams and Michelle Visage.

● FLETCHER received the award for Outstanding Music Artist, presented by Lance Bass and Trace Lysette.

Also onstage, three performing artists received special awards. Music star Christina Aguilera received the Advocate for Change Award, presented to a person who, through their work, has changed the game for LGBTQ+ people around the world. Aguilera was introduced by Club Q shooting survivor Michael Anderson. Anderson had invoked her lyrics as he testified before the U.S. House Oversight Committee on LGBTQ violence.

Recording artist and actor Bad Bunny received the Vanguard Award, which goes to allies who have made a significant difference in promoting acceptance of LGBTQ+ people and causes. The award was presented by Ricky Martin. Actor Jeremy Pope received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award, presented to an LGBTQ+ media professional who has made a significant difference in raising visibility and promoting acceptance of LGBTQ+ people and causes. It was presented by Gabrielle Union.

The Advocate’s award was presented offstage but announced during the ceremony, as were these others:

Outstanding Limited or Anthology Series: The White Lotus (HBO Max)

Outstanding Comic Book: Poison Ivy by G. Willow Wilson, Marcio Takara, Atagun Ilhan, Brian Level, Stefano Gaudiano, Jay Leisten, Arif Prianto, Ivan Plascencia, and Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou (DC Comics)

Outstanding Original Graphic Novel/Anthology: Young Men in Love (A Wave Blue World)

Outstanding Children’s Programming: “Adoptasaurus Rex,” Dino Ranch (Disney Junior)

Outstanding Spanish-Language Scripted Television Series: Los Espookys (HBO)

Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism: “Vico Ortiz,” Primer Impacto (Univision)

Barbara Gittings Award for Excellence in LGBTQ Media: Los Angeles Blade and Washington Blade

Special Recognition: Alejandra Caraballo

Special Recognition: Drag Story Hour

Special Recognition: Rothaniel (HBO)

Special Recognition: #Letters4TransKids

Special Recognition: The Lesbian Bar Project

Special Recognition (Spanish-Language): “En Sus Palabras" (Univision)

The nominees for the 34th Annual GLAAD Media Awards were published, released, or broadcast between January 1, 2022 and December 31, 2022. For a full list of nominees, click here.

Remaining winners for select categories will be announced at GLAAD’s New York ceremony May 13. The Los Angeles ceremony will stream on Hulu beginning April 12, marking the third consecutive year that Hulu has carried the ceremony.

The GLAAD award is the latest of several recently received by The Advocate and its parent company, equalpride. Neal Broverman, editorial director for equalpride, received the Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBTQ Journalist of the Year last year from NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists.

Ketel One Family Made Vodka hosted the L.A. event.

Advocate Magazine - KehlaniAdvocate Channel Promotion

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Are you ready for the Pride concert event of the year?
Don't miss “Can't Cancel Pride: The Future Starts Now,” a celebration of resilience & unity presented by IheartMedia, Procter & Gamble, and equalpride!

WATCH IT online Thursday, June 15th at 8pm ET/5pm PT at or STREAM IT on the Advocate Channel App.

This year’s event is hosted by JoJo Siwa, with a star-studded line-up that includes performances by Big Freedia, Ciara, Billy Porter, Brandi Carlile, Hayley Kiyoko, and Adam Lambert!

Latest Stories