Scroll To Top
Arts & Entertainment

The Golden Globes Return to TV Gayer Than Ever

Jerrod Carmichael and Ryan Murphy

While LGBTQ+ creatives were mostly left out of the winners, queer stories still shined bright. 

After last year's Golden Globe Awards did not air due to ongoing criticism of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association's (HFPA) lack of diversity, this year's ceremony came back as queer as can be, with recognition of LGBTQ+ characters, performers, and producers.

The show kicked off with a monologue from out comedian and host Jerrod Carmichael, who addressed the HFPA's history of racism directly. "I'm here cause I'm Black," Carmichael joked, as he opened the show.

He also rightly pointed out that he is the show's first Black host in its 80-year history, and until George Floyd was killed, the HFPA didn't have a single Black member for years.

As the night progressed, Carmichael also referenced his sexuality. When LGBTQ+ icon Niecy Nash presented an award, Carmichael introduced her by saying: "We both gay now, so that's cool." Nash responded by joking that she didn't know whether people were clapping for her because of her dress (which was gorgeous) or because she's gay.

Over the course of the night, several actresses won awards for their portrayals of characters within the LGBTQ+ community. For example, Zendaya took home the Golden Globe for Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series - Drama for her role as Rue in Euphoria.

Similarly, Cate Blanchett earned the award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama for Tar, in which she played lesbian conductor, Lydia Tar. Unfortunately, neither actress was present to accept these awards.

Hands down, the best (and gayest) part of the night was Ryan Murphy accepting the Carol Burnett Award. During his acceptance speech, Murphy spent the majority of time lauding out LGBTQ+ actors he has worked with, including MJ Rodriguez, Niecy Nash, Matt Bomer, and Jeremy Pope, as well as Billy Porter, who presented the award to Murphy.

In closing his speech, Murphy dedicated his award to these actors because they represent hope and progress. "It's hard being an LGBTQ kid in America," said Murphy.

"You are often told you will never become anything. You have to hide your life to survive. But for those kids watching tonight, I offer up MJ, Billy, Niecy, Matt, and Jeremy as examples of possibility."

Other queer-inclusive winners of the night included The White Lotus, which earned awards for Best Television Limited Series for its out creator Mike White and Best Supporting Actress in a Limited Series for gay icon Jennifer Coolidge. Michelle Yeoh also earned an award for her role in the LGBTQ-inclusive film, Everything Everywhere All at Once. House of Dragon, which features queer characters and stars nonbinary actor Emma D'Arcy, won Best TV Drama.

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Becca Damante